My Cloth Baby Shoe Tutorial!

cloth shoe tutorial

I finally did it!

I’ve actually been blogging since January 2013 on a blogger site thatssewnina.blogspot.com and I started my blog with three posts dedicated to three of my very favorite projects, what I call my “Favorite DIY Baby Gift“. To this day, those are still my top posts and one in particularly, my cloth baby shoes, really took off on pinterest with hundreds of re-pins and nearly 10,000 page views. It wasn’t really my favorite post because it was just pictures of cute shoes I made without a real tutorial so it’s nagged me all year that I should honor the post by creating a real tutorial. Here it is!

To create my tutorial, I felt it would only be right to really do it from scratch and create my own pattern while I was at it. Here how I did it:

IMG_7812

Here’s the shoe I started with

IMG_7814

I turned it inside out and ripped the seams apart

Just three little piece make the shoe

Just three little piece make the shoe

I traced the pieces on paper
I traced the pieces on paper

Using a see-thru ruler, I drew a 1/4" gap around the outside to allow for seams.

Using a see-thru ruler, I drew a 1/4″ gap around the outside to allow for seams.

Here's my pattern!

Here’s my pattern!

...and the pieces cut out ready to be traced on fabric.

…and the pieces cut out ready to be traced on fabric.

Check out my google doc for the details but here’s a little preview of some of the steps. It’s easier than it looks–especially if an addiction is born and you find yourself making shoes with every spare scrap of fabric you have. 

Happy sewing! 

 

-Nina

 

Leave a Reply

