My Grandmother’s Cheeseball Recipe

IMG_8673

Cheeseballs… simple, delicious, and with endless varieties of you can’t have just one bite goodness, how have they ever gone out of vogue?

Well, there wasn’t a Tupy family gathering without one. My grandmother had this tasty little super sharp cheesball that always took center stage surrounded by Ritz crackers. We took a turn at hosting Thanksgiving this year so I thought my grandmother’s cheeseball would be a perfect little appetizer. I called up my auntie to ask for the recipe and it turned out a success. What a nice keepsake and way to continue a little family tradition.

My Grandmother’s Cheeseball

click here for a link to my easy print google doc

Ingredients

  • 6 oz. cream cheese
  • 8 oz. crumbled blue cheese
  • 8 oz. sharp cheddar cheese spread
  • 1 TB grated onion
  • 2 TB fresh chopped parsley (for color. dried stuff is fine too)
  • 1 cup chopped peanuts (or whatever nut you prefer)

Directions

Mix the cream cheese, blue cheese, cheddar cheese spread, onion and parsley together. Mash with a fork to full incorporate the cheeses together. Form the mixture together into a ball or log form (*tip: wet your hands and the cheese won’t stick to your hands as much). Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Chop the nuts. Roll the ball or log in the nuts to coat the outside.

Serve with crackers or veggies.

Mash all of the ingredients together (except the nuts)

Mash all of the ingredients together (except the nuts)

To form the log, I rolled the mixture onto plastic wrap.

To form the log, I rolled the mixture onto plastic wrap.

My cheese log wrapped up in plastic wrap for refrigeration

My cheese log wrapped up in plastic wrap for refrigeration

Chopping nuts to roll the cheeseball in (I used pecans this time)

Chopping nuts to roll the cheeseball in (I used pecans this time)

Leave a Reply

